Call for entries for AfricaCom Awards 2019


Industry celebration of the movers and shakers driving the digital ecosystem across Africa.

London, 28 August 2019 – A little magic will take place at the AfricaCom Awards this year, with the return of old favourites and the addition of several new categories, all exemplifying Africa’s digital progression. Entries are now open for organisations to submit their best work conducted or implemented over the past 12-months. The deadline for entries is 4th October 2019.  No late submissions will be accepted.

The annual celebration not only recognises the achievements of the best organisations, solutions, products and people in the telecommunications and technology sector, but it is also an ideal opportunity for networking – not to mention, being the perfect occasion to kick back and relax.

This year, over 450 guests will be treated to a 3-course feast, along with plenty of live entertainment, under the theme of an “enchanted forest”, all in the safe hands of former Springbok rugby great, Bryan Habana who will emcee the evening.

PCCW Global, who supported the event  in 2018, confirmed their involvement for 2019, saying: “PCCW Global is delighted to sponsor the AfricaCom Awards which recognise the sterling works performed by companies and personalities that are developing solutions and products to improve connectivity that will drive Africa into the fourth industrial revolution.  Good luck to all who enter.”

For a seat at the table, here are the categories for 2019 – a detailed description of each, can be seen here:
*         Connecting the Continent Award (new)
*         Delivering Excellence in Customer Service
*        “Everything as a Service”- Best Cloud or Application Solution (new)
*         Changing Lives Award
*         Best Digital Entertainment Innovation
*         Security Product or Service of the Year (new)
*         Best Network Management Software (new)
*         Best Connected Consumer Device (new)
*         Best Innovation for Enterprise (new)
*         Most Innovative Service “The Business of Tomorrow”
*         Government Leadership Award (new).

In addition to the above, prestigious accoldaes will also be bestowed on the CXO of the Year and Enterprise CXO of the Year Awards, both of which awards are voted for by the industry.
The CXO of the Year will be an Africa-based telecoms, ICT and enterprise leader, who is prioritising telecoms innovation, embracing disruptive technology and elevating the continent’s digital economy.  In 2018 this Award was presented to Abdikarim Mohamed Eid, CEO of Telesom.

The Enterprise CXO of the Year Award celebrates an enterprise leader who excels at prioritising telecoms innovation, embracing disruptive tech and elevating the continent’s digital economy.  In 2018 this prestigious accolade went to Priya Thakoor, Chief Digital Officer for Coca-Cola South Africa.


To get a head start, here are some tips for submission:

1. Choose wisely
– Focus on what you are most proud of and choose the category that best represents your submission.
2. Time & Preparation
– Set aside enough time to plan and prepare. Standards are extremely high, and judges can spot last thoughts.
3. Ask questions
– If you have any queries about what to include or how to use the online entry system or contact the Awards organisers.
4. Make it appeal
– Make your submission a compelling read to stand out from the rest.
5. Prove it
– Fact or fiction? Expert judges will be looking for evidence for any assertions of success.
6. Fit the criteria
– Ensure you read the guidelines and judging criteria carefully and then answer all the questions, in full.
7. Include Endorsements
– Independent feedback, especially from clients or industry participants, can be very persuasive.
8. Supporting materials
– Check the category requirements and If you have something relevant, include it.
9. Proof read
– You may have great content, but ensure that your entry is well written and doesn’t contain mistakes.
10. Review
– Make sure you have included all the supporting information required by your entry and get an independent party to review.


The 2019 edition of the AfricaCom Awards are sponsored by PCCW Global and Intelsat who also support the Changing Lives Award.  The event will take place in Cape Town at The Lookout, in Cape Town’s famous Waterfront on Wednesday 13th November 2019, followed by the legendary after party.

Media Registration:  here

Delegate Registration:  Visitors please register for AfricaCom 2019 here

For other media enquiries, please contact:  Kaz Henderson – mail or call on +27 (0) 82 339 1199.  Please note that media registration will open next week.


About AfricaCom 2019

AfricaCom is part of the Connecting Africa series of events that expose delegates, the media and the savvy, to the latest advancements and opportunities in technology and the digital ecosystem. Taking place at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) from 12 -14 November 2019, AfricaCom is now in its 22nd year. AfricaCom is Africa’s largest technology, media and telecommunications conference & exhibition.  The conference programme covers the most strategic issues affecting companies in Africa’s digital market – services, efficiency, profitability, customer experience, partnerships, policy and more – and features several co-located events: AfricaTech, 5G Africa, Video Exchange Africa, The AI Summit Cape Town and IoT World Africa and more.

August 30 (Friday), 2019 |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 1998-2019 InterVista Sp. z.o.o. ul. Cyfrowa 6, Szczecin, Poland
Skip to toolbar